My Overall NBA Draft Prospect Rankings

Posted: 06/23/2016 by levcohen in Basketball, Draft

Four days after the season ended, the NBA Draft is here. Going straight from the intense Game Seven to the NBA Draft is kind of bizarre, and I think there should be a little more time between the end of the season and the Draft, but I’ve been writing about prospects for a month now anyway, so I’m certainly ready for the draft. I’ve ranked players in small groupings of two, three, or four, and now it’s time to compile one list with all of the guys I’ve written about. This isn’t a mock draft and has nothing to do with where these prospects will be drafted. Rather, this is my personal list of the players, from best NBA future to worst. At some future date, I’ll revisit this list and see how I did. I’m also going to color code the players in terms of guys I’m a bit higher on than most people and players I’m a bit lower on (by a bit, I mean at least a few spots). My personal favorites will be in green, and the guys I don’t like as much will be in red.

1. Ben Simmons – 6’10” PF from LSU. I wrote about Simmons here.
2. Brandon Ingram – 6’9″ SF from Duke. I wrote about Ingram here.
3. Dragan Bender – 7’1″ PF from Maccabi Tel Aviv. I wrote about Bender here.
4. Kris Dunn – 6’4″ PG from Providence. I wrote about Dunn here.
5. Jaylen Brown – 6’7″ SF from California. I wrote about Brown here.
6. Denzel Valentine – 6’6″ SG from Michigan State. I wrote about Valentine here
7. Deyonta Davis – 6’11” PF/C from Michigan State. I wrote about Davis here
8. Demetrius Jackson
– 6’2″ PG from Notre Dame. I wrote about Jackson here
9. Wade Baldwin –
6’4″ PG from Vanderbilt. I wrote about Baldwin here
10. Jamal Murray
– 6’5″ PG/SG from Kentucky. I wrote about Murray here
11. DeAndre Bembry
– 6’6″ SF from Saint Joseph’s. I wrote about Bembry here.
12. Taurean Prince
– 6’8″ SF from Baylor. I wrote about Prince here.
13. Buddy Hield
– 6’5″ SG from Oklahoma. I wrote about Hield here.
14. Jakob Poeltl
– 7’1″ C from Utah. I wrote about Poeltl here.
15. Henry Ellenson
– 6’11” PF from Marquette. I wrote about Ellenson here.
16. Marquese Chriss
– 6’10” PF from Washington. I wrote about Chriss here.
17. Furkan Korkmaz
– 6’7″ SG from Anadolu Efes. I wrote about Korkmaz here.
18. Ante Zizic
– 7’0″ C from Cibona Zagreb. I wrote about Zizic here.
19. Timothe Luwawu
– 6’7″ SG/SF from Mega Leks. I wrote about Luwawu here.
20. Domantas Sabonis
– 6’10” PF/C from Gonzaga. I wrote about Sabonis here.
21. Malik Beasley – 6’5″ SG from Florida State. I wrote about Beasley here.

22. Cheick Diallo
– 6’9″ PF/C from Kansas. I wrote about Diallo here.
23. Skal Labissiere
– 7’0″ PF/C from Kentucky. I wrote about Labissiere here.
24. Caris LeVert
– 6’7″ PG/SG from Michigan. I wrote about LeVert here.
25. Tyler Ulis
– 5’10” PG from Kentucky. I wrote about Ulis here.
26. Pat McCaw
– 6’7″ SG from UNLV. I wrote about McCaw here.
27. Ivica Zubac
– 7’1″ C from Mega Leks. I wrote about Zubac here.
28. Dejounte Murray
– 6’5″ PG/SG from Washington. I wrote about Murray here.
29. Guerschon Yabusele
– 6’8″ PF from Rouen. I (kind of) wrote about Yabusele here.
30. Juan Hernangomez
– 6’9″ SF/PF from Estudiantes. I (kind of) wrote about Hernangomez here.
31. Malachi Richardson
– 6’6″ SG/SF from Syracuse. I wrote about Richardson here.
32. Thon Maker
– 7’1″ PF HS Senior. I wrote about Maker here.
33. Damian Jones
– 7’0″ C from Vanderbilt. I wrote about Jones here.
34. Isaiah Whitehead
– 6’5″ SG from Seton Hall. I wrote about Whitehead here.

Of course, I didn’t talk about some players who could well be drafted in the first round. Those players include: Diamond Stone, Brice Johnson, Isaia Cordinier, and Robert Carter, and a host of others. But I’m not going to rank those guys, simply because I didn’t write about or research them. So this is my list.

Leave a Reply

