Abridged Week 7 Picks

Posted: 10/24/2015 by levcohen in Football

I have limited time this week so will keep the explanation of my picks short, but the picks are still all going to be made. This is a pretty bad week for football, with three 6-0 teams on BYE.
BYE teams: Cincinnati, Denver, Chicago, Green Bay
*= upset pick

Buffalo Bills (3-3, 3-3) vs. Jacksonville Jaguars (1-5, 2-4) in London:
Spread: Bills favored by 4.5
Over/under: 41
My prediction: E.J. Manuel against Blake Bortles? We truly do send our best to London. The Bills are the better all-around team, but this could end up being a coin-flip. I’ll take the Bills 24-14.
Bills cover
Under

Tampa Bay Buccaneers (2-3, 2-3) at Washington Redskins (2-4, 3-3):
Spread: Redskins favored by 3.5
Over/under: 43
My prediction: I think this is going to be a pretty close game, with the Redskins being the better team but the Buccaneers having the benefit of a BYE week. I’ll take the Redskins 24-21, but I truly have no idea about what will happen in this one.
Buccaneers cover
Over

Atlanta Falcons (5-1, 4-2) at Tennessee Titans (1-4, 2-3):
Spread: Falcons favored by 6
Over/under: 46.5
My prediction: Yeah, I’m not taking a team led by Zach Mettenberger against a rested Falcons team that hasn’t played since last Thursday night. Falcons win 30-20.
Falcons cover
Over

New Orleans Saints (2-4, 3-3) at Indianapolis Colts (3-3, 2-4):
Spread: Colts favored by 4
Over/under: 52
My prediction: Sorry, I just don’t see it with the Saints. They beat the Falcons at home, but they haven’t played well all season. Meanwhile, I was impressed by the Colts in their losing effort against the Patriots, and with a healthy Andrew Luck they still have a chance at being decent. Colts win 34-24.
Colts cover
Over

Minnesota Vikings (3-2, 4-1) at Detroit Lions (1-5, 1-5):*
Spread: Vikings favored by 2
Over/under: 44.5
My prediction: Make it two straight for the Lions! I wasn’t impressed by the Vikings last week and think they are very beatable on the road. Lions win 23-20.
Lions cover
Under

Pittsburgh Steelers (4-2, 5-0-1) at Kansas City Chiefs (1-5, 1-5):*
Spread: Chiefs favored by 3
Over/under: 43
My prediction: Do I have confidence in Landry Jones? Not exactly, but I do think Pittsburgh’s improved defense can help carry them to a win against a disinterested Chiefs team. Steelers win 24-17.
Steelers cover
Under

Cleveland Browns (2-4, 4-2) at St. Louis Rams (2-3, 2-3): – Lock
Spread: Rams favored by 6.5
Over/under: 41.5
My prediction: I love the Rams coming off a BYE here against Josh McCown’s Browns. Rams win 27-13.
Rams cover
Under

Houston Texans (2-4, 2-4) at Miami Dolphins (2-3, 2-3):
Spread: Dolphins favored by 4.5
Over/under: 44.5
My prediction: I see a continued resurgence for the Dolphins here in a 23-14 win.
Dolphins cover
Under

New York Jets (4-1, 4-1) at New England Patriots (5-0, 3-2):
Spread: Patriots favored by 7.5
Over/under: 47.5
My prediction: This line seems a bit high, especially with the Jets coming off a BYE. I still like the Pats, though, because why not? Patriots win 27-17.
Patriots cover
Under

Oakland Raiders (2-3, 2-3) at San Diego Chargers (2-4, 2-4):*
Spread: Chargers favored by 3.5
Over/under: 46.5
My prediction: No good rationale here, but go Raiders! Raiders win 27-23.
Raiders cover
Over

Dallas Cowboys (2-3, 2-3) at New York Giants (3-3, 3-3):

Spread: Giants favored by 3

Over/under: 45

My prediction: Matt Cassel on the road? I’d take the Giants if the spread was 6 points. Giants win 27-17.

Giants cover

Under

Philadelphia Eagles (3-3, 3-3) at Carolina Panthers (5-0, 4-1):

Spread: Panthers favored by 3

Over/under: 45

My prediction: Why are the Panthers only getting three points at home? They are clearly better than the Eagles, which makes me think that this is one of these games Vegas nails after seemingly being way off base. Panthers win 23-13.

Panthers cover

Under

Baltimore Ravens (1-5, 0-5-1) at Arizona Cardinals (4-2, 4-2):

Spread: Cardinals favored by 10

Over/under: 49.5

My prediction: When the Cardinals win, they win big. And they are going to win this game. Cardinals win 35-21.

Cardinals cover

Over

Upset picks:

Raiders over Chargers

Lions over Vikings

Steelers over Chiefs

Lock of the week:

Rams over Browns

Leave a Reply

