Week Two Review

Posted: 09/18/2013 by levcohen in Football

It’s coming a day late, because I thought if I waited a day the scores might change and my record might look slightly more respectable. Sadly, they didn’t, and neither did my record.

*= upset pick

St. Louis Rams (1-0) at Atlanta Falcons (0-1):
Line: Falcons favored by 5.5
Over/under: 46.5
My prediction: Falcons- 31, Rams- 24.. I think the Rams will be pretty solid this year, but remember, these Falcons were the best team in football for most of last year. I don’t think they will fall to 0-2, especially since they are home, and I think they’ll win pretty comfortably.
Falcons cover
Over

Results: Falcons- 31, Rams- 24.. The first perfect prediction of the year! Hopefully there are many more to come. Obviously, 3/3.

Carolina Panthers (0-1) at Buffalo Bills (0-1):
Line: Panthers favored by 3
Over/under: 43.5
My prediction: Panthers- 22, Bills- 16.. Listen, the Bills played the Patriots close, but that’s more of an indictment against the Patriots then anything. I think EJ Manuel will be a good quarterback, but I think the Panthers are a more talented team right now, although I’m scared of them as three point road favorites against anyone, even the Bills.
Panthers cover
Under

Results: Bills- 24, Panthers- 23.. And then this happens. The Panthers were up 20-17 with little time left and they were inside the Bills 10 yard line with a fourth and one. They decided to take a field goal, putting them up 23-17, and then put the game in the hands of their defense. And that cost me all three predictions.

Minnesota Vikings (0-1) at Chicago Bears (1-0):
Line: Bears favored by 6
Over/under: 41.5
My prediction: Bears- 24, Vikings- 14.. I don’t think the Vikings are very good, and I wouldn’t be surprised if they went 4-12 or thereabouts. The Bears should be able to contain Christian Ponder. I wouldn’t be surprised to see a pick-six for Charles Tillman or another Bear.
Bears cover
Under

Results: Bears- 31, Vikings- 30.. Only the game right.

Washington Redskins (0-1) at Green Bay Packers (0-1):
Line: Packers favored by 9
Over/under: 50.5
My prediction: Packers- 31, Redskins- 26.. The Packers aren’t going to go to 0-2 at home, much like the Falcons (or maybe they will, but I don’t think so). Still, this line is pretty high, and I think the Redskins and RG3 can cover.
Redskins cover
Over

Results: Packers- 38, Redskins- 20.. Just the spread wrong, as the Redskins look like a pretty bad football team right now.

Miami Dolphins (1-0) at Indianapolis Colts (1-0): *
Line: Colts favored by 3
Over/under: 43
My prediction: Dolphins- 23, Colts- 17.. The Dolphins might just be a better football team than the Colts. Plus, this could well be a letdown game for Indianapolis, as they travel to San Francisco in week three.
Dolphins cover
Under

Results: Dolphins- 24, Colts- 20.. Just missed on the over/under, but this accounted for my lone correct upset pick.

Dallas Cowboys (1-0) at Kansas City Chiefs (1-0):
Line: Chiefs favored by 3
Over/under: 45.5
My prediction: Chiefs- 24, Cowboys- 20.. The Chiefs traditionally have a nice home field advantage, and they just beat an NFL football team by 26 points. The Cowboys barely won a sloppy divisional game at home.
Chiefs cover
Under

Results: Chiefs- 17, Cowboys- 16. . The Cowboys got a cheap field goal late in the game, so I really should have gotten a 3/3 here. Oh well.

San Diego Chargers (0-1) at Philadelphia Eagles (1-0):
Line: Eagles favored by 7.5
Over/under: 53
My prediction: Eagles- 31, Chargers- 28.. I like the Eagles to win this game, but just barely. The line is a bit too high, as people forget that Philly barely held on against Washington and San Diego led Houston for most of the game. Both teams are coming off of a short week, as both played on Monday Night Football.
Chargers cover
Over

Results: Chargers- 33, Eagles- 30.. Only the game prediction wrong. If Chip Kelly had managed the clock well, maybe this also would have been a 3/3.

Cleveland Browns (0-1) at Baltimore Ravens (0-1):
Line: Ravens favored by 6.5
Over/under: 43.5
My prediction: Ravens- 27, Browns- 14.. Coming off of an embarrassing loss to the Broncos, the Ravens are going to kill the Browns (that sounds so bad.. the Browns and Redskins should really change their names), who are led by the not-so-good Brandon Weeden.
Ravens cover
Under

Results: Ravens- 14, Browns- 6.. Finally, I get lucky. This game did not turn out how I thought it would (the Ravens were down 6-0 at half time), but I got a 3/3 out of this one.

Tennessee Titans (1-0) at Houston Texans (1-0):
Line: Texans favored by 8
Over/under: 42.5
My prediction: Texans- 27, Titans- 17.. This line started at 10, but people apparently like the Titans and it’s down to eight. I’m not confident about this pick, but I trust the Texans more than I do Tennessee, especially at home.
Texans cover
Over

Results: Texans- 30, Titans- 24.. Maybe the Titans are better than I thought. Spread wrong again.

Detroit Lions (1-0) at Arizona Cardinals (0-1):
Line: Lions favored by 1
Over/under: 48
My prediction: Lions- 27, Cardinals- 20.. The Lions might actually be a good football team.
Lions cover
Under

Results: Cardinals- 25, Lions- 21.. At least I salvaged the over/under. I probably would have chosen the Cardinals had I known that Larry Fitzgerald would play (he was questionable), but this is a 1/3.

New Orleans Saints (1-0) at Tampa Bay Buccaneers (0-1):
Line: Saints favored by 3
Over/under: 48
My prediction: Saints- 28, Buccaneers- 17.. I have no confidence in the Buccaneers.
Saints cover
Under

Results: Saints- 16, Buccaneers- 14.. The Bucs shouldn’t have been in this game at all, as if not for a long weather delay I think the Saints would have blown them away. I lose the spread pick again.

Jacksonville Jaguars (0-1) at Oakland Raiders (0-1):*
Line: Raiders favored by 6
Over/under: 40.5
My prediction: Jaguars- 23, Raiders- 20.. How do the Jaguars score 23 points?? I have no idea. But it’s one terrible team against another, and the Raiders shouldn’t be favored by six points, so why not pick the Jaguars upset for the second straight week (because it worked so well in week one).
Jaguars cover
Over

Results: Raiders- 19, Jaguars- 9.. I should have seen this one coming. 0/3.

Denver Broncos (1-0) at New York Giants (0-1):*
Line: Broncos favored by 4
Over/under: 54.5
My prediction: Giants- 30, Broncos- 24.. The Giants as four point underdogs at home is insane, and I think Eli Manning and David Wilson will bounce back in this one. Look at it this way: The Giants scored 31 points against Dallas and turned the ball over SIX TIMES.
Giants cover
Under

Results: Broncos- 41, Giants- 23.. Another 0/3. The Broncos are really terrific.

San Francisco 49ers (1-0) at Seattle Seahawks (1-0):
Line: Seahawks favored by 3
Over/under: 44
My prediction: Seahawks- 27, 49ers- 23.. The Seahawks have the best home field advantage in the NFL, and the “12th Man” plans on breaking the Guinness World Record for loudest fans at a sporting event. That in itself is enough to pick them over their division rivals in what might be the game of the year.
Seahawks cover
Over

Results: Seahawks- 29, 49ers- 3.. The over/under wrong.

Pittsburgh Steelers (0-1) at Cincinnati Bengals (0-1):
Line: Bengals favored by 6
Over/under: 41
My prediction: Bengals- 23, Steelers- 20.. I just think that Mike Tomlin and the Steelers will be prepared for their division rivals and keep it close. The Bengals’ greater talent will probably end up prevailing, though.
Steelers cover
Over

Results: Bengals- 20, Steelers- 10.. Ok, the Steelers are terrible. 1/3.

Upset picks:
Giants over Broncos- INCORRECT
Jaguars over Raiders- INCORRECT
Dolphins over Colts- CORRECT

1-2… 2-5 total.

Lock of the week:
Patriots over Jets- CORRECT

1-0… 2-0 total.

Straight up picks: 11-5.. 21-11 total
Against the spread: Gulp.. 5-11.. 10-21-1
Over/under: 9-7.. 19-13

Leave a Reply

