Week One NFL Predictions (!)

Posted: 09/08/2013 by levcohen in Football

The day has finally arrived: Sunday of week one. Yes, I know one game has already been played, and that was a resounding blowout in Denver. But the season doesn’t truly start for about four more hours as I type these words. There are 13 games today, including 10 at one o’clock, 2 at four, and the Sunday Night Football game which features the Cowboys and Giants. Want to know what will happen in those games? Well you came to the right place.

*= upset pick

New England Patriots at Buffalo Bills:
Line: Patriots favored by 10
Over/under: 51.5
My prediction: Patriots- 28, Bills- 20… Make no mistake, I like the Patriots in this game. But a 10 point home underdog in week one? You don’t see that very often, and I think the Bills, with their rookie QB E.J. Manuel, can cover.
Bills cover
Under

Cincinnati Bengals at Chicago Bears:*
Line: Bears by 3
Over/under: 41.5
My prediction: Bengals- 23, Bears- 21… The Bengals have been a very good road team over the past few years, and I think they just have a better all around team than the Bears, with depth and stars at RB, WR, TE and great lines.
Bengals cover
Over

Miami Dolphins at Cleveland Browns:
Line: PICK EM
Over/under: 40.5
My prediction: Browns- 20, Dolphins- 17.. These teams are probably pretty evenly matched.. And the Browns are home. In my opinion, they should be favored by about two points.
Browns cover
Under

Minnesota Vikings at Detroit Lions:*
Line: Lions favored by 4
Over/under: 47
My prediction: Vikings- 23, Lions- 21.. Until I see otherwise, I’m NOT very confident in the Lions. And people forget that the Vikings went 10-6 last year and have the best player in the world. I’m not a fan of either team, but I’ll take the underdog.
Vikings cover
Under

Oakland Raiders at Indianapolis Colts:- Lock of the Week
Line: Colts favored by 10.5
Over/under: 47
My prediction: Colts- 34, Raiders- 20.. Let’s just say this Raiders team is terrible. But the Colts defense isn’t very good either, so I could see the Raiders scoring a late touchdown and covering.
Colts cover
Over

Atlanta Falcons at New Orleans Saints:
Line: Saints favored by 3
Over/under: 55.5
My prediction: Saints- 35, Falcons- 28.. This is going to be a shootout, and I’m picking the Saints to win by a touchdown because emotions should be running high (Sean Peyton’s first game back) and New Orleans have a nice home field advantage.
Saints cover
Over

Tampa Bay Buccaneers at New York Jets:
Line: Buccaneers favored by 3.5
Over/under: 39.5
My prediction: Buccaneers- 17, Jets- 16… I almost picked the Jets to win (they are at home), but I couldn’t do it. I think that an average team should NEVER be favored by three and a half points on the road.
Jets cover
Under

Tennessee Titans at Pittsburgh Steelers:
Line: Steelers favored by 7
Over/under: 42
My prediction: Steelers- 23, Titans- 13.. The Steelers might be overrated, but I don’t think the Titans will be very good.
Steelers cover
Under

Seattle Seahawks at Carolina Panthers:Line: Seahawks favored by 3
Over/under: 45
My prediction: Seahawks- 27, Panthers- 21.. I know, so far I’ve picked all the home underdogs to cover the spread, and logic says I should pick Cam Newton at home here. But I truly believe that the Seahawks are a great team, so I have to pick them here.
Seahawks cover
Over

Kansas City Chiefs at Jacksonville Jaguars*:
Line: Chiefs favored by 3.5
Over/under: 42.5
My prediction: Jaguars- 20, Chiefs- 16.. The Chiefs are everyone’s favorite sleeper, and I certainly think they have a lot more talent than the Jaguars. But the Jaguars are home, and yes, I do still hold a grudge against Andy Reid. Go Jags!
Jaguars cover
Under

Arizona Cardinals at St. Louis Rams:
Line: Rams favored by 4
Over/under: 41.5
My prediction: Rams- 23, Cardinals- 17… Since 2010, the Cardinals are 4-20 on the road. The Rams were 4-1-1 against the tough NFC West last year. Enough said.
Rams cover
Under

Green Bay Packers at San Francisco 49ers*:
Line: 49ers favored by 4.5
Over/under: 49
My prediction: 49ers- 31, Packers- 27.. This game was really tough to pick. The 49ers made the Super Bowl last year, and are home, but I also think the Packers are going to be good this year. When in doubt, pick the home team
Packers cover
Over

New York Giants at Dallas Cowboys:
Line: Cowboys favored by 3.5
Over/under: 50
My prediction: Cowboys- 30, Giants- 28.. This will be another shootout, and I think the Cowboys will finally be able to defeat the Giants at home. Barely. And I don’t feel confident about it.
Giants cover
Over

Philadelphia Eagles at Washington Redskins*:
Line: Redskins favored by 3.5
Over/under: 52
My prediction: Eagles- 27, Redskins- 24.. Yes, this is a bit of a homer pick. Maybe it’s wishful thinking. But I don’t care. By the way, asking how the Eagles are going to hold Washington to 24 points is a valid question. The answer? I don’t know.
Eagles cover
Under

Houston Texans at San Diego Chargers:
Line: Texans favored by 4
Over/under: 44.5
My prediction: Texans- 28, Chargers- 20.. I think the Texans are just a better team.
Texans cover
Over

Lock of the week:
Colts over Raiders

Upset picks:
Bengals over Bears
Vikings over Lions
Jaguars over Chiefs
Eagles over Redskins

Leave a Reply

