Why do people like golf so much?

Posted: 06/13/2013 by levcohen in Uncategorized

The U.S. Open is the talk of the week, especially around Merion, where I live. That’s all well and good, except for one thing: Golf stinks. In my opinion, there is no other way to think of it. You watch “athletes” hit a ball a few hundred feet, walk (or ride a golf cart) to get to their ball, and repeat. Maybe there is *a little* drama near the last putt on Sunday, but other than that, I just don’t see it. Okay, maybe there is some golfing history, but really, history can only take you so far in sports. A sport has to be entertaining to be worth attending or watching, and to me, that isn’t golf. Golf shouldn’t really be considered a sport, because it requires no athletic ability, and it also shouldn’t be such a big deal. There’s a ton of traffic around where I live now, and it’s thanks to the horror that is Tiger Woods and golf.

End Rant.

Feel free to tell me what’s so fun about golf. I doubt I’ll change my mind.

Comments
  1. Marinite says:

    Boy, do I agree with you, for the most part. I think golf is incredibly boring but I do think it requires some athletic ability to hit a ball a long distance. It certainly requires skill to do it with accuracy. How would you compare golf to archery or riflery?

    There’s an article in my local paper today called “Mysterious Merion”, which is about the Merion Golf Club and the US Open. Maybe you saw it. It’s by Doug Ferguson of the Associated Press. I hear the traffic has been horrendous, even before the tournament’s beginning. I hope the tournament doesn’t return to Merion for at least another 32 years!

    • 5toolstar says:

      I’m not a big fan of archery or riflery either, but at least those sports are in the Olympics. They also are more fun to watch because it’s very intense and often comes down to the end. It’s not a four day, dragging event like golf.

  2. spencert15 says:

    golf is horrible to watch on TV (giving birth to the term “golf naps”), but it does require athleticism. hitting the ball accurately requires physical coordination, and walking 18 holes like the pros requires a good deal of stamina. playing golf is fun, but i can’t watch it for more than 10 minutes

Leave a Reply

